Links

The Thomas Hardy Association - arts.st-andrews.ac.uk/ttha

Founded in 1997 to promote the study and appreciation of Hardy’s writings in every corner of the world. This site is strongly recommended to all who are interested in Hardy.

Alliance Of Literary Societies - www.allianceofliterarysocieties.org.uk

Cooperative of organisations working in defence of literary heritage. 

Athelhampton House and Gardens -www.athelhampton.co.uk
East of Puddletown, near Dorchester, Dorset. This 15th C house was often visited by Thomas Hardy.

BBC Audiobooks - www.bbcaudiobooks.co.uk
New recordings of Hardy's novels

Bere Regis ('Kingsbere') Village Website - www.bereregis.org
A treasure trove of contemporary & historical information & photographs about the village.

Boscastle, Cornwall - www.boscastlecornwall.org.uk

Campsites in Dorset - http://www.caravansitefinder.co.uk/parks/find/location/486-dorset

Find caravan parks and campsites with Caravan Sitefinder

Dorchester - www.visit-dorchester.co.uk
Detailed information on places to visit, forthcoming attractions, accommodation etc.

Dorset County Council - www.dorset-cc.gov.uk
Detailed information on the County of Dorset including arts events and the Dorchester Library.

Dorset County Museum - www.dorsetcountymuseum.org
The Dorset County Museum traces the natural, archaeological, social, and geological history of Dorset from Prehistory to the present day. The website holds information about the galleries, collections, special exhibitions and events.

Dorset and East Devon Coast - www.jurassiccoast.com
On 13th December 2001 UNESCO World Heritage Committee announced that the Dorset and East Devon Coast is now officially listed as a natural World Heritage Site.

Dorset Wildlife Trust (DWT) - www.wildlifetrust.org.uk/dorset
The Trust works to preserve and protect the habitat and wildlife of the county.

Edmund Blunden - www.edmundblunden.org
For information on the life, times and work of the 20th Century poet Edmund Blunden

Footscape - www.footscape.co.uk
Footscape self-guided walking holidays on the Jurassic Coast

Harvey's Literary Tours - www.literary-tours.com/

Explore the relationships between the region's authors and the landscapes that inspired them and how each brings depth, perspective and meaning to the other.

Heart Of Dorset - www.heartofdorset.co.uk

A selection of farm and country holiday accommodation throughout Dorset

Keep Military Museum - www.keepmilitarymuseum.org
The Military Museum Of Devon & Dorset tells the stories of the soldiers and their families who have served in the regiments over the past three hundred years. There are spectacular views of Thomas Hardy’s ‘Casterbridge’ and surrounding area from the battlements.

Kitty's photostore - http://picasaweb.google.com.hk/beyondriver/AWeekInDorchester

National Trust - www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Hardy’s Cottage
Max Gate
Thomas Hardy was born at Hardy’s Cottage, Bockhampton in June 1840.
He lived at Max Gate from 1885 until his death in 1928. 

Isle Of Portland Pictures - www.isleofportlandpictures.org.uk/Surnames/Stopes

Pictures of Thomas Hardy visiting Marie Stopes, the Family Planning pioneer, at her lighthouse home on Portland, Dorset. Contact: Geoff Kirby

Oxford World’s Classics - www.oup-usa.org/owc/onlineresources.html

Online resources, an excellent guide and search engine for Thomas Hardy.

Poetry Book Society
Contact: James Knapton, Membership & Sales Officer
Fourth Floor, 2 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9RA Tel: 0207833 9247

UK Railways On The Net - www.rail.co.uk/
Details of train services.

The Royal Society of Literature 

Founded by King George IV in 1820 to 'reward literary merit and excite literary talent' the RSL offers a programme of monthly events including lectures, debates and poetry readings. For further information visit www.rslit.org

Thomas Hardy Explorer - www.thomas-hardy-explorer.co.uk

Alistair Chisholm is an experienced and very entertaining tour guide who will help you get the most out of your visit.

The Powys Society - http://www.powys-society.org/

The Victorian Literary Society - http://victorian.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/concordance/hardy
Hyper-concordance - excellent resource for Hardy students.

Victorian Web - www.victorianweb.org

Waterstone Books - www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/home.do
Staff at the Dorchester store are an eclectic bunch at varying stages of evolution and a wide range of interests and abilities. Someone somewhere will know the answer to your question and eagerly lead you to the excellent range of Thomas Hardy’s works.

Wessex Discovery Tours - www.wessexdiscoverytours.co.uk

Personally-guided tours for small groups in beautiful Wessex.Visit the locations that feature in Thomas Hardy's life and works amid the rolling Dorset countryside.

West Dorset Tourism - www.westdorset.com
West Dorset is the heart of Thomas Hardy’s ‘Wessex’. Browse this site for details of Tourist Information Centres, coast and countryside and the towns of  Dorchester, Sherborne, Bridport , Beaminster and Lyme Regis.

Weymouth & Portland - www.weymouth.gov.uk
Details of services and information for Weymouth and Portland.

Winning Writers - http://www.winningwriters.com/
Finds and creates resources for poets and writers